Skip to content

Hair Loss


On average, everybody loses between 50 – 100 hairs each day.  This is normal.  There is a natural cycle of hair growth whose two main stages are called ANAGEN, the growing stage, and TELOGEN, the resting stage.  In the growing stage, anagen, our hairs continue to grow for about 2 – 3 years and then the hair follicle enters the resting stage, telogen, for approximately 2 – 3 months and then the hair is shed.  As we get older, the length of our anagen stage shortens which accounts for why most people notice that their hair does not grow as long as it used to.

Hairs in anagen are held firmly in place and do not normally shed.  It is when our hair follicles rest in telogen that they are normally released to make way for a new hair to begin the cycle once again.

ALOPECIA is the medical term for hair loss.  There are many distinct types of hair loss of which the most common are:

Lastly there are several resources for patients and their family members to explore:

National Alopecia Areata Foundation

Children’s Alopecia Project

Cicatricial Alopecia Research Fund